A Mountain Too High?

Hi there friend,
I was going through my old books and writings and just came across this piece i wrote in my high school years. I remember i was leaving home at the time gripped with fear not knowing if i was going to be okay living in a new place away from people i was used to.My heart was heavy within me, i wondered if i just made a wrong decision replaying the previous night’s conversation with my mum as she tried to convince me to stay but i was determined to leave.
It was twilight and i was travelling in a bus seated next to the window gazing outside, i watched how the horizon lightened up by the second with the emerging rays of sun. It looked so beautiful and peaceful that i felt myself calm down. so i took out my pad and penned down this lyric.
A Mountain Too High?
Photo credits:@etienne_boesiger
There are times when I feel so discouraged,
Like I am all alone in a cruel world,
In a tunnel full of darkness I grapple
It seems like all hope is gone
And there is nothing left to hold on to.
Then I remember that God is everywhere
He speaks to us through nature
I only have to look around to see that I am not alone
I am surrounded by God’s love in all His creations.
I see Mother Nature smiling at me,
Her eyes tender and voice full of compassion
My eyes fill with tears as she whispers to me,
Words of encouragement and wisdom.
Child do not cry, do not be sad.
Just look, there is beauty to behold,
A life full of joy and love and gladness
One that knows no fear or sadness
That’s how God wants you to live
He is always very near,
To hide you in his embrace
To give you strength and hope
To wipe away those tears
And to stand by you when you make it
To tell you how much he loves you
Because He understands your fears
Look at the green plants
From the thick tropical forests
To the lower plants in the forest floor
Take a lesson from the Lianas
They are the weakest of plants in the forest
Yet they never give up on reaching the sun’s light
They climb until they get to the tree tops
Where they can see each new day as it dawns
Consider the vastness of the oceans
Whose depths remain a mystery
They harbor all creatures great and small
Yet in all their differences they live in perfect harmony
See the wonders of the natural waterfalls
So beautiful and breathtaking
Have you seen the dainty little butterflies?
How they grace us with bright colors and movement
Not to forget the birds of the air
They have no care for the morrow; it’s already cared for
So they face each day happily
As they sing sweet melodies to each dawning day.
And of course the pretty wild flowers
They blossom every warm summer
Yet as winter comes they will be gone
Have you felt their delicate velvety petals?
Gaze upon the distant stars and moon in the sky
These all reveal God’s endless love and might
Listen child, listen earnestly to these creations
You have no reason to worry or be discouraged

The challenges come and go
And God cares for His creations

None of them escapes His notice

Yet of them all, you are most precious.

Did you enjoy it? Give a kudos to the teenage me😊.Just hit the Like button below or leave a comment!
Love muchly!
Liz😍😍

2 thoughts on “A Mountain Too High?

  1. How much this is a reminder,when we look around all we see is God's greatness and love for us. When reading it I could just picture all the scenarios.

    Like

  2. Thank you Kate.Yes indeed, God is great and He loves us so much.Truth is God is always speaking to us through nature. sometimes all it takes is to just unplug from all the chaos of life and enjoy the tranquility nature offers.

    Like

Leave a comment